“Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful.” Joshua J. Marine

That is a quote from my amazing boyfriend’s high school graduation speech that litters the social net and uplifts readers. And me.

Actually, that is a small lie. About a week ago, I hated that quote. The challenges that I faced were not making my life interesting, they were making my life a wreck. (Read all about it here.)   But, then yesterday happened. 

After ten months of facing the “how is the job search going?” question, I have been given one, possibly two offers. (The second will come either tomorrow morning or not at all.) Either way, before noon tomorrow, I will have signed with a company and officially be employed. 

It’s over. I got through it. I actually keep telling myself that- I did it. My current offer and the possible one coming tomorrow are incredible answers to prayer. I can’t convey the feelings of excitement I have about both offers. But I wanted to talk about this quote. 

Is my life more meaningful having overcome my obstacle of finding a career? Am I a deeper, better person having gone through this ordeal? 

Maybe. I am an interview champ. I know exactly how hard I want to work, what I want to do, and the value of employment. I learned the value of humanity in business. I learned my own tenacity, drive, and principle. I learned that no matter what is taken from me, I will keep pushing to create new value in my life and the lives of others. I learned that I am my mother’s daughter, which means a lot when you are waking up, and upon opening the kitchen cupboard to pull out a coffee mug, you debate the merit of  using a soup bowl, instead. I know that at my very worst, I keep moving and pushing, even after months and months and months, in order to make it.  

Now, sweaty, bruised and hardened, I have made it to the other side. I think the view will be nice, once I catch my breath and look up.  

I am not yet to the place where I can say this experience made my life “meaningful.” But maybe tomorrow. Or next week. I will get there, and you, readers, will be the first to feel it.

